Skip to content

I’m on hiatus.

July 5, 2007

Long time no blogging. There’s a good reason for that, I think. I’ve been completely overwhelmed. Let’s see, I play in two bands (three if you count my recently-launched solo project), run a record label, do some booking, work a challenging full-time job, own an old house that needs TLC, and last but not least, I’m getting married four months from today!

Every so often I do this to myself. I freak out about all my responsibilities, attempt to shed myself of some, and go into hibernation.

So for the next six months (at least), I’ve promised to take a break from all this music busy-ness. I’d like to concentrate on ME for a while, planning my wedding, playing some music, and even getting back into this here blog thing. I’ve always enjoyed writing, I just never feel like I have the time to do it. I want to change that.

Also over the next six months, I’m going to take a hard look at the future (and past) of EKR and make some decisions. Maybe it’s because I just turned 35 (don’t they say you go through a life change every 7 years?), but I feel like my life is at a crossroads. Getting into the details of why I started eskimo kiss would take multiple blog entries, but sometimes I think it stems largely from me wanting to do something “cool.” When I was growing up, I was never cool. I always wanted to fit in. Once I got out of the trappings of being an awkward teenager in a small town, I learned that my being a female musician was pretty damn cool, in a lot of people’s eyes anyway. Plus I had always enjoyed the feeling of turning people on to new music, so I thought, what better way to do that than to start a record label. And what could possibly be cooler than that?!?

Now, seven years later, I’ve seen my little label grow from a bedroom hobby to a pretty well-respected little indie entity. But I’ve also seen it suck my bank account, my free time, and attribute to ruining my previous marriage. I was so consumed with it that I had lost myself. Now maybe I’ve finally grown up, but I’ve come to realize that this whole “cool” business doesn’t mean SHIT. I am damn cool, and I know it, and I don’t have to spend thousands of dollars on a struggling local band to prove it.

Whew. That’s liberating.

Note: I’m also reading Sarah Susanka’s “The Not So Big Life.” If you’re an overachiever like me, and can never seem to find the time to do the things you really want to do, please run don’t walk to your nearest bookstore or log on to your online retailer of choice and buy it. Now. $25 well spent.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

