Skip to content

Best cheap Mexican lunch ever

July 26, 2007

That’s what I had today, courtesy of Starlite Cantina in East Point. I had never been prior to today, but had read some raves about it recently on the Internets. I normally wouldn’t feel compelled to blog about lunch (take-out no less), but Starlite truly went above and beyond my expectations, so I thought it was worth noting.

I set at the bar while waiting for my order; the bartender asked if I needed anything and I requested chips and salsa and water while waiting. He was happy to oblige, and I noticed later when I got my bill he didn’t even charge me for the chips. Sweet. (And I know chips and salsa are hardly a big expense for restaurants anyway, but still.)

I ordered my standard Mexican order — fish tacos. They were ready fairly quickly so I paid for my order and went on home to pig out. When I opened my bag I was surprised to see even more chips and salsa, along with the tacos I ordered (not two but THREE… I could have sworn the menu said two, so another bonus) plus rice and beans. The tacos were very simple, tilapia with pico de gallo and lettuce on the side, but were definitely some of the best fish tacos I’ve had in a while, and the rice was friggin’ outstanding. I don’t eat beans, so I put those in the fridge for Mark to eat later, along with the chips and salsa. All that for $8. I love you Starlite Cantina!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

