Skip to content

Kim & Mark’s List of Things That Don’t Suck

August 2, 2007

So Mark and I are planning a post-wedding party, and one of the things we agreed on was that we wanted a band. The hard part was agreeing on which band. We don’t typically like much of the same music; in fact we don’t typically like much of the same anything. So after much discussion we did decide on a band to ask to play at our party; hopefully they will oblige. Anyway, while thinking about this I was reminded how, like I said, we really don’t agree on much of anything, but especially when it comes to music, film or television. So I decided that’s how you can tell if something really doesn’t suck; if we both like it, it must have at least an above-average amount of decency to it. So with that said, I bring you Kim & Mark’s List of Things That Don’t Suck (in no particular order):

  1. Spoon. Particularly “Girls Can Tell.” This was the first Spoon album that really grabbed me, and Mark as well. We both agree that they have yet to top it.
  2. Hot Hot Heat’s “Make Up the Breakdown.” They started declining into suckdom shortly after, but man, what a fun album. I think this came out just as we were starting to become close friends again, so it’s doubly special (awww…).
  3. Rilo Kiley’s “The Execution of All Things.” Wow, the lyrics to this really hit home at the time. Another “first” for us, as this was our introduction to the wonder that is Rilo Kiley.
  4. Pixies. Just before we moved to Atlanta, we came here to see the Pixies at Fox Theater. Probably the most amazing show I’ve ever witnessed. I cried. I think he might have too, but he cries at everything.
  5. The Preakness. The only Atlanta band we agree on. And hopefully performing at said post-wedding celebration.
  6. The Flaming Lips. Not so much their albums, really I can take them or leave them. But live? Oh. My. God. Religious experience.
  7. Bobby Bare, Jr. Mark’s hero. He prefers the Bare Jr. stuff or at least his more rockin’ stuff; I’m more of a fan of his Young Criminals’ Starvation League. Awesome. And he seems like such a cool guy too.
  8. Little Miss Sunshine. I dragged him there but we both loved it. Still my favorite movie ever.
  9. Flight of the Conchords. June 17 was my birthday, and it was also the day that FOTC premiered on HBO. It was also the day I decided to purchase HBO, for that show alone. And now, it’s the only show that we both are addicted to, watching each episode several times and then quoting portions of it all week long. The funniest show on television.
  10. The Office. The second funniest show on television. Although I’ll admit that Mark’s viewing really slipped this past season (the best season so far, in my opinion).
2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2007 12:32 pm

    Congrats again!

  2. August 4, 2007 1:07 pm

    Well thank you Amy!!!

Leave a Reply

