Skip to content

Brendan Canty’s Burn to Shine series hits Atlanta

August 14, 2007

Jeez I don’t know how the hell I missed this one (or could it be, I dunno, having my ass kicked by work and trying to organize a music festival and plan a wedding all at the same time? Yeah maybe that’s it.) given that I’m quite a fan of Canty’s work, not even so much from Fugazi as his documentary work and also his collaboration with Lois Maffeo.

But apparently Canty is filming a series of musical performances called Burn to Shine, in which bands perform one song in a location that is scheduled for demolition. What a creative idea. And he recently filmed an installment in Atlanta.

I can’t wait to see this — the Atlanta recording apparently includes Shannon Wright, Deerhunter, The Selmanaires, All Night Drug Prowling Wolves, Snowden and Mastadon.

Thanks to Dry Ink for the heads up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 14, 2007 2:45 pm

    Thanks for the heads up! Tom is one of my favorite people, and Dry Ink is great!
    Tom will be performing with Brent Hinds (from Mastodon) in West End Motel at the Earl Wed. 8-15.
    I’m looking forward especially to seeing Shannon Wright in the film because I’ve never seen her live.

Leave a Reply

