Skip to content

Rediscovery playlist (or, I think I miss the 90s)

August 18, 2007

So in between working today I’ve been loading CDs onto my iTunes. Since I bought a ridiculous amount of music when I was in college, a lot of my CDs are from the 90s. I really miss that decade. Musically it was a really exciting time for me, as being a DJ at my college station really opened my eyes to a lot of music I would have never heard of otherwise, and of course joining my first band also helped increase my knowledge of underground (or what we then called “alternative”) music even further.

Back then, you weren’t inundated with a new band every five minutes. If you were interested in music that wasn’t played on top-40 radio, then you had to seek it out. But if you were willing to stay up late on a Sunday night, you’d have your own personal 2-hour alternative music lesson right in your living (or dorm) room, thanks to MTV’s “120 Minutes.”

By the end of the 90s Kurt Cobain was dead, alternative had become mainstream, MTV was much more concerned with where to film the 120th season of The Real World than they were with finding the next buzz band, and not only was everyone making music, but everyone was putting out a CD.

Now instead of planning an east coast tour for my band I’m planning a wedding. So it’s with a hint of nostalgia and pride that I put together this playlist, which I call Rediscovery.

REDISCOVERY PLAYLIST 08.18.07
1. Versus – Blade of Grass
2. Sugar – Panama City Hotel
3. Luna – Beautiful View
4. Rodeo Boy – Another Chorus Comes
5. Son Volt – Drown
6. Pavement – Cut Your Hair
7. Zen Frisbee – Crazy Steven (mp3)
8. Archers of Loaf – Vocal Shrapnel
9. Mary’s Danish – My Dear Heretic
10. Dinosaur Jr. – The Lung
11. Antenna – Don’t Be Late
12. Wheat – Don’t I Hold You
13. Meat Puppets – Never to Be Found
14. Beulah – Sunday Under Glass
15. Madder Rose – My Star
16. Liz Phair – Supernova
17. Buffalo Tom – I’m Allowed
18. The Posies – Solar Sister
19. Blake Babies – Cesspool
20. The Lemonheads – It’s About Time

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2007 10:08 am

    thats a nice playlist but it lacks one thing… No Archers of Loaf!!

  2. August 19, 2007 10:38 am

    Hey Tangerine Breem — check out #8!

  3. August 19, 2007 3:52 pm

    Doh!

    Did I miss it or did you add it?

    Great choice of song too 🙂

  4. August 19, 2007 3:59 pm

    Yeah you missed it, was there the whole time. Yes that and Scenic Pastures are my favorites on that record.

  5. August 20, 2007 12:12 pm

    I love rental sting too, in fact, I love the whole of that record to bits. It’s my favourite archer’s record. Even my blog is named after an Archer’s song (a b-side to boot…)!

    Oh, wow, just see you blogrolled me, thanks! First one I think 🙂

  6. August 20, 2007 12:49 pm

    Hey you are most welcome, I like your blog a lot!
    I was fortunate enough to catch one of the archers last shows in Charlotte at Tremont Music Hall. Really awesome band. AND, a couple years later I also got to see Crooked Fingers in a pizza joint of all places. Also in NC (Wilmington). Some great bands come out of that state yessiree.

Leave a Reply

