Skip to content

Once

September 3, 2007

Tonight Mark and I went to see the movie “Once.” I had been reading so many rave reviews about it, and while I don’t typically care much for musicals, the idea of an indie rock musical intrigued me. I’ve also enjoyed the little bit of Glen Hansard music that I had been exposed to, so I was actually looking forward to seeing it.

I was not the slightest bit disappointed. “Once” is a film for musicians, for music lovers, for lovers… really for anyone who can appreciate films that are subtle and honest but without any of the big-budget Hollywood wizardry.

The average movie goer will probably be drawn to the love story aspect of the film (although you should know it is not a typical love story), but I was most impressed with how the movie really captured the emotion of musicians recording their first record — the excitement, the fear, the feeling that nothing outside of that recording studio matters. Having experienced this with people whom I was extremely close to (both as friends, and also romantically), this portion of the film hit really close to home.

I don’t want to give too many details away, so I’ll just say that this is a movie I would see again and again. I can’t wait to get the soundtrack, to buy the DVD, and to experience “Once” once again. Please go see it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

