Skip to content

an ending, a beginning

October 4, 2007

My wedding is a month away, and as I continue planning for one of the biggest days of my life, one of my best friends just got divorced.

Divorce sucks. I know first hand. But I also know that change is usually a good thing. No matter how heartbreaking the change might seem at the time, change helps you grow, and you usually end up taking something positive from the experience.

My divorce was one of the most trying, challenging things I’ve ever had to deal with. I went into it knowing it was for the best (my stubbornness helped with that I think), so perhaps I handled it with a more positive attitude than some people would have. But I truly believed then, and still believe now, that the divorce was just something I needed to go through to get from point A to point B. I’m a completely different person now than I was 10 years ago. Part of that is just due to getting older, but I think a large part of it is also due to my divorce. I’m stronger and more independent, a little more laid back (although I still need to work on that a bit) and as far as relationships go, I think I’m far more patient than I used to be (also need to continue to work on that one too), and my expectations for a husband are so much more realistic.

So, I hope if my friend reads this she understands that yes, it’s hard; and yes, she’ll sometimes get so down she’ll wonder why she ever thought this was a good idea in the first place. But in the end, she’ll be closer to becoming her true self, and she’ll learn that this experience was so necessary that she wouldn’t change it for the world.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2007 9:17 am

    well said. i couldn’t imagine the person i would have been had i not gotten divorced.

  2. October 4, 2007 1:52 pm

    Amen!

Trackbacks

  1. eskimo bliss’s greatest hits! « eskimo bliss

Leave a Reply

