Skip to content

Are blogs the new record label?

December 2, 2007

As I’m gearing up for a couple of EKR releases for ’08, I’ve been working on updating my press and radio list. Doing so got me analyzing how most people learn about new music. A look at my press list would show that it’s primarily composed of blogs or web-only publications. So from that, and also based on my own experiences of finding new music, I’d say most people are exposed to new music from the Internet, specifically blogs or web-only zines.

I came across this post on the Wired blog, which hints at the same sort of thing. And interestingly, while eskimo bliss started as an outlet for me to write about music, entertainment, married life, heck, whatever I felt like really, I’m planning on branching out in ’08 and releasing my own music under the label “eskimo bliss” (not to be confused with my “real” label, eskimo kiss… I know, it seems confusing but there’s a method to my madness, trust me).

So what do you think? I’d be really interested to hear how you find out about new music these days. Is it through college radio? Larger magazines such as Paste, Magnet, etc.? Blogs? iTunes? or just word of mouth from friends? And do you think blogs have the relevancy, credibility and staying power to eventually take the place of (or at least become equal to) the traditional record label? Would appreciate any comments on this, and if you comment and send me your mailing address, I’ll even send you a homemade eskimo kiss/eskimo bliss sampler. How’s that for appreciation?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiff permalink
    December 2, 2007 10:43 am

    For me it’s pretty much in this order:

    1. iTunes (new music Tuesdays and the “people who purchased this also purchased this” feature
    2. Paste
    3. tie between friends and blogs

  2. December 2, 2007 11:29 am

    I read about a million blogs (Brooklyn Vegan, Stereo Gum, Daytrotter, etc…), and in iTunes I’m subscribed to a ton of Podcasts (IndieFeed, NPR, KEXP, KCRW).

    I also dig the Paste Magazine CD Samplers and some of the local colege stations.

    Friends are always a great resource, and sometimes you just stuble across a great band (St. Vincent) opening for one of your favorite groups (Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s)

    ps: nice show last night, rock star

  3. December 2, 2007 12:48 pm

    Do blog record labels lose as much money as real record labels?

    I’m historically a print guy. I’ll read an article or a review and then go check out a sample at iTunes or somewhere else. I’ve only recently started getting recommendations from blogs, but am now picking up a lot of suggestions that way.

    I rarely rely on radio (except for maybe 3WK or KEXP). Even though I probably listen to WRAS 5-10 hours a week, I’m sorry to say I’m not getting much new out of it.

  4. December 3, 2007 7:09 am

    you guys rule, thanks for the feedback! I think I have each of your mailing addresses already. Keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

