Skip to content

eskimo bliss’s top 10 albums of 2007

December 6, 2007

I’m working on a year-end podcast featuring some of my favorite tunes from this year, but from lesser-known indie artists. In the meantime though, here’s my top 10 albums of 2007, in (mostly) no particular order except for the #1 spot.

  1. The National – Boxer – to me, this is like a musical blanket. So warm… I get lost in it. It affected me immediately, like no other album did this year.
  2. Wilco – Sky Blue Sky – it really sounds like The Eagles. But I kinda like the Eagles, so that’s ok.
  3. Ryan Adams – Easy Tiger – his best yet
  4. Matt Pond PA – Last Light – he lost the strings but got much more confident in his songwriting
  5. “Once” Soundtrack – most beautiful movie and songs ever.
  6. Dolorean – You Can’t Win – so pretty, and I love the production.
  7. Bright Eyes – Cassadaga – a little more adventurous for him, I like the variety… bright eyes for the AAA set?
  8. David Shultz and the Skyline – Sinner’s Gold – so happy that David found me earlier this year through myspace. He was unknown to me prior to that, but now he’s become one of my favorite songwriters. Think Issac Brock singing Ryan Adams tunes.
  9. Filthybird – Southern Skies – one of the best records, and definitely the best debut, to come out of NC in years. Stunning. The sleeper indie hit of ’07. One reviewer said they sound like “Cat Power playing Neil Young tunes,” which is very accurate.
  10. Novi Split – Pink in the Sink – for “California Skies” and “Leaving It” alone, but the whole record is really good and reminds me why I’m so obsessed with Hush Records and the west coast in general.

What’s your list look like?

The National – Fake Empire (mp3)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2007 12:43 pm

    i miss the strings on the new mppa. still, an excellent album.

  2. Ben Morris permalink
    December 7, 2007 10:31 am

    Cool list – I will have to check out David Schulz, cause modest Mouse is one of my favorite bands.

    Mines not done yet, but it will have Matt Pond PA, Dinosaur Jr, Modest Mouse, Les Savy Fav and Spoon definitely. GA GA GA GA GA!!

  3. December 18, 2007 4:50 pm

    really good list…especially having matt pond pa, the national on it. Not really a fan of Bright Eyes’ last release but a lot of people were into it moreso than his last two. Here’s my list:

    1. The National- Boxer
    2. Spoon- Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
    3. Matt pond PA- Last Light
    4. Dinosaur Jr.- Beyond
    5. Radiohead- In Rainbows
    6. Iron and Wine- Shepherd’s Dog
    7. St. Vincent- Marry Me
    8. Band of Horses- Cease to Being
    9. The Whiles- Sleeper’s Wake
    10.Blonde Redhead- 23

  4. December 18, 2007 4:54 pm

    Very cool, John. Yeah I was into Cassadaga much more than his last few albums. Also I was very late to the bustop for Band of Horses; just got Cease to Begin about a week ago and LOVE it. So that definitely would have made my list had I gotten it sooner!

  5. January 7, 2008 5:18 pm

    have you heard any older matt pond pa stuff? i miss the fact that he lost strings , but Last Light is still a solid release. I dont think anything can compare with Emblems though.

  6. January 7, 2008 5:21 pm

    yeah, I think I own everything since “The Nature of Maps”. And I’m still partial to that one, probably because it was the release that first turned me onto them (and contains their best song IMHO, “Closer”). They are all great though!

  7. rob permalink
    January 8, 2008 12:04 pm

    i just recently got turned on to mpPA with the Last Light album, and seeing as much as you guys talk about their older stuff, it looks like i’m gonna have to go find their older stuff…but i do like the album, its a great listen…

  8. pete permalink
    January 9, 2008 4:27 pm

    You should absolutely check out Matt Pond PA’s older music (Several Arrows Later, The Nature of Maps, Emblems; also check out their last EP (released just before Last Light) If You Want Blood); it makes you appreciate where they are now in their songwriting and career in general. I’m sure you’ll like them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

