Skip to content

Bury me with Modest Mouse

December 17, 2007

Just got back from the 99x Mistletoe Jam, which was a little better than I expected although it did make me feel really old. We got there in time to catch most of Silversun Pickups‘ set; I was very entertained by the drummer, whose kit was set up like a right-hander’s kit, yet he played without crossing arms for the hi-hat/snare (so he used his left hand for the hi-hat, right hand for the snare). He was very solid, hard-hitting, and fun to watch. The singer’s voice is just way too bizarre for me though. M even agreed, and he’s a fan, saying that he sings like a muppet.

After Silversun, The Shins played a short but sweet set that included a fantastic rendition of “Sea Legs” and closed with a fun cover of “Suffragette City,” but sadly didn’t include “Kissing the Lipless.” The mix for The Shins was a little rough at first, but by about the third song it was sounding really nice. It was the first time I’d seen them live and I’d love to see them again in a setting where it’s more their show and less a radio promotion event.

The most, uhm, “interesting” act of the night was Silverchair, I guess. WTF was that??? Seriously. We seemed to be in the minority, as most everyone near us was standing up and really into it, but damn, that singer was the most ridiculous spectacle I think I’ve ever paid money to see. M described him as “fruitier than a football bat.” Well I don’t know what a football bat is, but it must be damn fruity.

It was hard to sit through them to see Modest Mouse, but somehow we did. MM put on a really great show, better than the last time we saw them in Atlanta at Masquerade. I really enjoyed the two drummers, and Issac seemed to remember all of the words, as far as I could tell. You can say what you want about his singing style, but damn he’s got a really fantastic group of players with him, and I’d put them head to head with most any indierock band out there these days.

I’m up too late for a Sunday but also want to mention the Happenstance, which I attended Saturday night at the EARL. Happenstance is an annual event in which 30 area musicians meet up early in the morning, are randomly placed into a total of six bands, then practice all day to come up with a 15-20 minute set to play that evening. I participated in it last year and had an amazing time. It was a lot of fun to watch this year, especially knowing all the hard work that is put into each set. I didn’t stay for the whole night and don’t want to pick favorites as everyone was fantastic, but I must say that the band that called themselves “27 Vagrants” (I think), comprised of Tracy Clark, Jenny Hutton, John McNicholas and two other folks who I didn’t know, really blew me away with their guitar licks (especially when Jenny, John and one of the dudes I didn’t know were all three on guitar), and I’ve had one of their tunes about “one great song” in my head all day. That was a very long sentence, so I’ll close by just saying that it was a very good time.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2007 12:51 pm

    I caught the show with a group of friends too, you weren’t the only one that felt really old! I guess we have pretty different tastes in music, because I mainly went to see Silverchair. I think Daniel Johns (the lead singer) is an amazing musician… even if he does act “fruitier than a football bat.” =)

    And I could barely sit through Modest Mouse… all of their stuff sounds the same to me.

  2. December 17, 2007 4:13 pm

    You say the nicest things.

  3. December 17, 2007 4:33 pm

    Ha! to some maybe, not to that fruit from silverchair 🙂 (and I’ll give you that they are talented… Daniel can play some guitar, but it was just all the “can you scream for me one time? can you scream for me two times? can you scream for me one more sexually frustrated time?” over and over and over…. too much for me, just play the music dude!)

  4. Tiff permalink
    December 18, 2007 2:43 pm

    tee-hee, football bat! yeah i hear that guy from silverchair is a bit girly.

    the shines ARE wonderful live! that show i went to in raleigh was one of the best i’ve been to. i bet the Suffragette City cover was good!

  5. patty permalink
    December 23, 2007 1:50 am

    i agree with all you said… i was there…

    isaac did much better with lyrics than when i saw him 2 years ago

    wondering if you might know where to get the setlist that modest mouse played that night??

    patriciopatterson@yahoo.com

  6. DRza permalink
    January 19, 2008 12:49 pm

    I agree with most of the statements. I felt old too, even though I/m 18 but only because nobody danced too much. but I disagree about the modest mouse situation. They played amazing shit at the Masq last year, and then had that jam outside their bus for like two hours. You gotta dig that shit. But at Mistletoe it was like,mostly their new shit, with one song from earlier than Moon and Antarctica, which can’t compare. Plus it was cut short because Isaac was sick. I don/t know, Mistletoe just wasn/t a good night for modest mouse.

Leave a Reply

