Skip to content

More new year stuff

January 6, 2008

I’m always very reflective this time a year, and I’m experiencing a lovely bout with insomnia tonight… so I thought I’d pass the time with this poll I found on another blog:

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?

Went to Mexico! The best week of my life.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t make resolutions per se, but do make a list of things I hope to accomplish. Which I guess is the same thing. I just don’t like calling them resolutions for some reason. I accomplished some of them, at others I failed miserably. I have a long list for 08!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Babies, babies, everywhere. My childhood friend Melanie and her husband Scott had their first child (a daughter). My co-worker and friend Javi and his wife Julie did also.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, but my grandma did at the very end of ’06.

5. What countries did you visit?

Mexico

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?

More patience. Now!

7. What day from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

November 2, and then the week following. I married my best friend!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

My growing relationship with my hubby, and the beginnings of The Good Graces.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Gaining weight instead of losing it. Letting my house get unorganized, and taking on too many commitments.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nope, just the occasional bugs here and there, but nothing major, thankfully.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

my Fender Malibu acoustic/electric guitar

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

The hubby for his warmth, patience and sense of humor. My parents for their support. My close friends, for their friendship!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

No comment.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Mortgage. Trip to Cabo.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

My wedding (do you sense a pattern here?). My very first solo show.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?

Peter Bjorn & John’s “Young Folks”

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. Happier or sadder?

Probably about the same.

ii. Thinner or fatter?

a bit fatter.

iii. richer or poorer?

probably a little richer, but I feel poorer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

keeping my eskimo kiss stuff more organized.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

spending money on things I didn’t really need, (such as) going out to eat.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

spent it in NC with my parents and brother.

21. Did you fall in love in 2007?

even more so.

22. How many one-night stands?

zilch.

23. What was your favorite TV program?

Flight of the Conchords.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I try not to “hate” anyone, period.

25. What was the best book you read?

Eat, Pray, Love

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Once

27. What did you want and get?

a new guitar. love and marriage!

28. What did you want and not get?

I really wanted to get in better shape in time for the wedding. I tried, but I’m trying even harder this year. I wanted my position at work to change. Looking like that’s more likely for ’08… keeping my fingers crossed!

29. What was your favorite film of this year?

See #26.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Celebrated with some friends at Element. I turned 35!

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

It was my most satisfying year so far, all things considered. So nothing I can think of at the moment.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?

Comfort. Nuvo-hippy?

33. What kept you sane?

My friends. Music. Playing music with my friends!

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Probably Oprah, although that’s starting to wear off a little.

36. Who did you miss?

My grandma. Old friends from Wilmywood.

37. Who was the best new person you met?

Most of my favorite new-ish friends I met in ’06, so it’s hard to say.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007:

It’s a combination of several lessons that I knew, but was reminded of. Sometimes you might think you really know someone, but perhaps you never truly do. Also, you can’t fight other people’s battles. On a more positive tip, from my week in Mexico I learned that heaven on earth does exist, and I gained a newfound appreciation for it.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

“I laugh more often now, I cry more often now, I am more me.” – Peter Bjorn & John

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiff permalink
    January 6, 2008 1:52 pm

    Wilmington misses you to…and we are glad that you are FINALLY growing tired of Oprah….

  2. January 6, 2008 6:06 pm

    A lovely list

Leave a Reply

