Skip to content

doldrums

January 10, 2008

the doldrums – a dull, listless, depressed mood; low spirits.

I love the word “doldrums”. I love most any word with “drum” in it. Conundrum is my favorite.

But I don’t like experiencing them. And it seems I had been, ever since the new year started. Finally today I’m starting to feel back to my normal, relatively upbeat self.

When I woke up today one of the first things I said to the hubby was “today is going to be a good day.” It’s a little cheesy, but I do think we have the ability to trick ourselves into being happy. Like a mind over matter thing. And while I was content with wallowing in my doldrums for a little while longer (I think we all owe ourselves that every so often), today I’m reminding myself that these little obstacles that make up life are just that, little obstacles. They are just little blips on the radar. This time next year I’ll have forgotten all about them.

Here’s to happy mornings.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

