Skip to content

The Savages

January 24, 2008

I really need to get some work done as I missed most of today due to a doctor’s appointment and then rehashing our family crisis with my mom. But first I just had to post about the movie “The Savages.” Just got home from seeing it, and I must say it was absolutely brilliant. More than any movie I’ve ever seen, I felt like I was eavesdropping on someone’s real life rather than watching actors. That was no doubt due to the amazing acting talents of Philip Seymour Hoffman, Laura Linney and let’s not forget Philip Bosco, but also largely because of a wonderful script. I think all writers should take a lesson in dialog from Tamara Jenkins. Truly amazing.

Besides being a brilliant movie though, I think it also had a huge effect on me because I really felt like I was watching my mom interact with her brother, and my self interact with my brother as well. I swear, I think I am the Laura Linney character in that movie (anxiety and all! no kidding, the doctor’s appointment today pretty much confirmed it). And knowing how my mother and uncle communicated with each other and dealt with my grandmother’s Dementia, Parkinson’s, and nursing home situation just a couple of years ago… it all just hit very close to home and was almost like a snapshot of my life.

So I’m crossing my fingers that WordPress doesn’t eat this post like it did my previous two posts today, because friends you really need to see this movie! (Don’t believe the reviews that say it’s not as depressing as you’d think though, it’s quite the tear-jerker.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2008 11:39 pm

    WordPress didnt’ eat it; it’s here! I’ve been dying to see this movie — and you have now convinced me that I must see it as soon as I get back from Charleston.

    p.s. Sorry we didn’t meet at the Rob Sheffield shingdig last night!

  2. January 25, 2008 1:12 am

    I loved that movie and saw it with my brother. We can relate as we had to take over my mother’s life when she nearly died 2 years ago. She’s been doing well in an assisted living home here now.
    Hoffman is probably now my favorite actor and I’m rooting for Linney to win best actress.

Leave a Reply

