Skip to content

Weekend recap

February 18, 2008

drumming at Kavarna

Had a busy but very fun weekend that started with a show with the Mary O. band Friday night at Kavarna in Decatur. Kavarna is one of my favorite places to play or see a show; the staff is so nice and I just love its relaxed, living room vibe.

Friday’s show was a lot of fun and we had a nice crowd there to support us. Richard Parsons played after us and I was very impressed with his songwriting, which sort of reminded me of a slower, sadder version of Son Volt.

Saturday I stopped by for a little bit of the Rock On extravaganza being held at Wordsmiths Books. Got there in time to catch a few songs of the duo version of the band Sealions. Their stuff was what M would refer to as “sad ass indie rock,” which meant I of course loved it. Unfortunately I didn’t get to stay for all of the Dan Kennedy reading, but what I did hear was hilarious and I can’t wait to read the book. Since I was the winner of the Baby Got Books contest, I got lots of schwag including a copy of the new Hope for a Golden Summer CD, a couple of Rock On promo items, and I should have a signed copy of the book waiting for me at Wordsmiths.

If you haven’t been by Wordsmiths out you really should check it out, it’s become my favorite bookstore largely because of the awesome events that they put on. I happened to notice a sign up that mentioned a cafe coming soon; this is sure to make Wordsmiths even more of a destination for book lovers.

The Good Graces @ Kavarna

After Wordsmiths I headed back over to Kavarna for another show, this time with The Good Graces. John and I got a nice little crowd out so I was very happy about that. As usual I started out being very nervous but by the end of the show I felt good about it.

My back-to-back visits to Decatur and hanging around Oakhurst made me really miss that area. Of course I could never convince M to move back to “dick hater,” but if we stick around Atlanta I’d love to relocate in a year or so to Kirkwood or Edgewood, so then at least we’d be closer. Not that we are THAT far now, but still, the idea of being in a neighborhood with restaurants, coffeeshops and bookstores is something I really miss.

We ended our weekend with a very enjoyable Sunday. Spent a couple of hours at the High Museum (it was our first visit there and we both really enjoyed it; I particularly enjoyed the Georgia O’Keeffe pieces and the large variety of folk art, while Mark was partial to the Louvre stuff), then had dinner at Tamarind Seed, which I highly recommend. Probably the best Thai I’ve had in Atlanta.

Now after such a packed weekend I think I’m paying for it. Started feeling kinda crappy yesterday, sore throat and achy, which progressively got worse throughout the night. So I’m gonna have a day of lying in bed with some books and my iPod, and will hopefully be back at work tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiff permalink
    February 18, 2008 2:29 pm

    AW! I wish I could see you play! Do you think you’re going to play at WE Fest this year?

  2. February 18, 2008 4:09 pm

    Yes, that’s the plan!

  3. Donna permalink
    February 20, 2008 7:46 am

    I took Susan to Tamarind Seed for her birthday lunch. It is excellent!

    Satu and I need to go to the Georgia O’Keeffe exhibit to look at all of the va j j’s.

    😉

Leave a Reply

