Skip to content

back from austin

March 16, 2008

SXSW was friggin’ amazing. I’m going to work on posting a day-by-day recap this week, but let’s just say it was extremely inspirational, exhilarating, and very, very exhausting. Over the four days I was there I was overwhelmed with a sense of positivity when it comes to the music “business” (I have such a hard time calling it that). Sure, I heard lots of talk about how mp3s suck and digital technology is ruining the “industry” (again, another term that makes me a little nauseous). But one thing I can take away from my week in Austin is that live music is where it’s at folks. If you just concentrate on playing good music and getting yourselves out there in front of as many different people as possible, and make your number one priority to put on an excellent show, AND IGNORE THE BULLSHIT, then I think you’ll find that there’s a lot of wonderful opportunities to be had in the independent music world.

Stay tuned for the recap, and lots of great photos too!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 10:02 am

    was so great to finally meet you! am just trying to recover from the madness now and dive into deadline. ick. hope to see you soon!

  2. March 17, 2008 10:04 am

    girl it was awesome to meet you too! we should get together soon. Sorry I didn’t make it back out to the paste party on Sat… good luck with your deadline! 🙂

  3. March 17, 2008 11:25 am

    I can’t wait to live SXSW through your recap posts! Who were the best performers you saw?

  4. March 17, 2008 12:05 pm

    TAG! I just meme’d you, in case you’re too tired to write your SXSW posts.

  5. March 17, 2008 2:38 pm

    Beth – the best shows I saw were My Morning Jacket, Yeasayer and Jens Lekman. I was fortunate to see Yeasayer 3 times and Jens twice! I also really enjoyed Atlas Sound (ATL represent). It was all pretty awesome! Yeah I hope to start posting my daily recaps tonight! (And I’ll check out the meme too 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

