Skip to content

I made a record this weekend, what did you do?

April 15, 2008

This weekend I drove to NC to record some Good Graces tunes; I had been planning this for months was so excited about it all last week, as my day job had been giving me a fit and I was so looking forward to focusing on something else (that’s actually fun and productive!) for a couple of days.

Friday night I stayed at my parents’ house in Kings Mountain to split up the trip; got there in just enough time to eat a snack, attempt to take care of some work emergencies, then hit the sack. Managed to wake up early enough Saturday to make it to Mebane just around noon.

I had decided to split up the sessions, recording on Saturday with the esteemed Jerry Kee (who’s recorded most anybody who’s anybody in the NC indie scene… Superchunk, Kingsbury Manx, Polvo, and of course EKR’s Citified, and the list goes on and on), and then on Sunday over at Saxapahaw with my good friends Jay and Jane, from the band Velvet.

My goal for Saturday was to get three songs down, and we did just that. I started with the acoustic guitar and vocals, John showed up a couple of hours later to add his very tasty leads, then I added some percussion, hand claps and backing vocals, and we were done! I said my goodbyes to Jerry and Molly, then headed to Chapel Hill to meet Jay and Jane. It was great to see them and we walked over to Spotted Dog for some food and catching up. Ran into our old friend Bob there, which was a nice surprise too. After some really delicious vegetarian food we went over to our friend John’s house for his birthday cookout. John plays in North Elementary so we talked shop for a while, listened to music, talked about our current guilty pleasures (his is Jennifer Lopez, mine Jordin Sparks), and played with his dog Parker (who was totally awesome).

It was getting late so we headed on over to Jay and Jane’s place, which is a turn-of-the-century farmhouse in the middle of the woods! I knew as soon as I saw it that it was going to be a great weekend. I met their pets, Clara the dog and two cats Zoe and Puzzlina, and we listened to music for a bit before I crashed out on the couch.

Things got started Sunday around noon. I knew instantly this was going to be a very relaxed session; that’s what I enjoy about recording in someone’s home, it’s not stiff like some studios can be. We set up for guitar and vocals in one room, like we did at Jerry’s. I got to use Jane’s 1979 Guild acoustic for a couple of tunes which was sweet. Laying down the basic tracks happened pretty quickly, then we got to the fun stuff — drums, keyboards, odds and ends. I love adding little textures like that and find that it can really bring songs to life. And if you know me you know I’m a drummer, so I took advantage of the drumset they had for a few songs, even adding the whole set for one (I think that was the most fun I had all day!).

We played around with the tunes all day, Jay contributing some keyboard parts and Jane adding a bass line, then walked down to the lake behind their house. I was already jealous of their setup but they have a lake too??? That’s it, I’m moving in.

After we got back to the house we finished up one final keyboard part, then Jay did a rough mix for me. We ended up with four songs total, one more than I had intended. All in all it was a very productive and extremely fun weekend. All that’s left is a few tweaks, maybe some additional keyboard here and there, then final mixing! If all that goes well, I should have the finished debut Good Graces recording in about a month, yippee!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 2:29 pm

    That was a good (graces) weekend!

  2. Tiff permalink
    April 17, 2008 9:32 am

    I can’t wait to hear it!

Trackbacks

  1. Things to accomplish - end of April update « eskimo bliss

Leave a Reply

