Skip to content

Car update

April 29, 2008

I’m so so so soooooooo frustrated about this wreck bullshit. I’ve resorted to lots of cursing in blog posts which I don’t typically do. Today I went to the chiropractor because I think my back is jacked. Right after it happened I felt just fine, save the strawberry on my elbow and my head feeling like someone had pulled my hair really hard. But considering the impact and damage to my car, I felt pretty lucky.

Over the past few days however, my back has gotten progressively worse. Saturday night it started bothering me a little, then Sunday it seemed ok. Yesterday by the end of the day I was really uncomfortable, and today I was uncomfortable all day long. That’s the thing, it’s not really pain, it’s just discomfort. It’s like I’ve lost some of my mobility. So I thought I should get it checked out… I’ve never been to a chiropractor before and I was really hesitant and skeptical. I still am really. She took x-rays and I’m supposed to go back tomorrow, so I guess we’ll see.

What do you guys think of chiropractors? Quacks or legit? I just don’t want to get into a situation where I have to go back again and again and again… I’ve heard horror stories about them just making you feel worse. But I also don’t want to neglect something that might cause me even bigger problems later.

As for my car… surprisingly Geico didn’t total it out. There’s still a chance that may happen though as the body shop tells me that once they take it apart their estimate will probably be higher than Geico’s. If they fix it, that’s a little less hassle for me. But I worry that with that much damage, it will completely ruin the value of my car. Such a pain… and what bothers me the most is that the jackass who hit me is still just driving around or stealing cars or making drug deals or whatever the hell he was doing, unless karma already got him.

Life’s a real bitch sometimes!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2008 10:57 pm

    I wish I could give you advice on the chiropractor. i have friends who swear by them, then I went to one and without even looking at me he wanted to have me come back every single week forever and then hugged me before I left. Um, personal space, um thanks (and I’m totally a hugger – but that was weird). Althougth I was weirded out by the hugging, and didn’t go back after my initial adjustment – it sure made me feel better going that one time. I just made it clear up front that I wasn’t buying into the BS and coming every week.

    I wish they’d catch the jackhole that hit you!

  2. April 30, 2008 6:09 am

    I hear ya (or, I read ya). We’ll see what she says today but I think I’m gonna tell her up front that I just want to fix whatever I may have messed up in the accident. I don’t want this to be some long-term thing. My back has been messed up for a while, bad posture that I chalk up to years of playing drums in marching band, but I was fine with that. I just want to get rid of this huge kink, or whatever it is.

  3. April 30, 2008 11:05 am

    I’ve never been to a chiropractor because luckily (and I just f*cked myself by typing that) I haven’t had a bad injury. But they’ve been helpful to my friends who have needed it.

    I’m dealing with car issues myself — mechanical, not crashical — but I’ll be happy to give you a ride somewhere (and meet you!) if the Beloved Chef is tied up.

  4. April 30, 2008 9:23 pm

    Hey Beth — it’s gone from bad to worse. I don’t even think I can type about it now because I’m so upset. And my hand is numb. This fucking sucks.

    I have a rental but thank you! We should totally meet up sometime though.

  5. Tiff permalink
    May 1, 2008 7:18 am

    I’ve never been to one either, but my Mom has and I’ve had lots of friends that swear by them. Thye will most def. try and make you a permant client if you let them though (“I’ll need to see you 4 times a week for the next TWENTY YEARS”). I think it all depends on where you go. Hopefully the one that you are seeing is reputable and won’t do that. I think you can find patient reviews online that might help too (http://ratemds.com/social/?q=node%2F28883&country=0&dlname=&dcity=&sid=11&dspecialty=Chiropractic&dgender=&zip=&radius=30). I hope you told the insurance company that you’ve been injured as well as the ATL PD!

Leave a Reply

