Skip to content

Catching up… and WE FEST!!!

May 20, 2008

I’ve been neglecting my blog as of late but I’ve had lots to write about, mainly music stuff… so here are just a few of my recent happenings and/or things you should check out:

  • North Elementary has posted a video on their site for the song “Lovesday Dead Down.” It’s a great song and a really great video, filmed around Chapel Hill and at NE’s live shows.
  • A couple of weeks ago I got a great little CD in the mail from my new friends from Austin, The Sour Notes. “The Meat of the Fruit” is full of catchy, endearing pop tunes that bring to mind Fountains of Wayne at times, The Flaming Lips at other times, and touches of The Beach Boys almost all the way through. It’s a wonderful debut and I’m excited to hear more from them.
  • I took in some wonderful shows recently, including Radiohead which I mentioned in a previous post, The Swell Season, and Laura Veirs. The Swell Season played at Cobb Energy Centre; I was worried that the show would lack the intimacy that made their recent Variety Playhouse show so enjoyable, but I was dead wrong. The sound in that venue was AMAZING, very full and warm, and their onstage demeanor was so sweet. I had a friend ask me today if their show was as awesome as the movie made her feel. I’d say that’s a good way to describe it if you liked the movie. It’s a very similar feeling, like what you are seeing is genuine and heartfelt, like you’ve been let in on this big secret (less a secret now, with the Grammy and Oscar) and you’re on the fence between telling everyone because it’s so beautiful and keeping it to yourself because it all seems so personal and true.
  • Over the weekend I recorded two tunes and put them on my myspace — “Bad Driver” was inspired of course by my recent car accident; “Going to Utrecht” is a cover of one of my favorite tunes by The Mountain Goats. Check them out and let me know what you think! I’m hoping to get a better recording of both when I’m in NC again in a few weeks.
  • And finally, WE FEST IS THIS WEEKEND! I’m very excited to see my old friends and take in some wonderful music. I’m putting on a singer/songwriter showcase Saturday, and then hosting the eskimo kiss showcase Sunday so I’ll probably spend most of those nights running around like a chicken with its head cut off, but it will also be so much fun. If you are unfamiliar with the festival, it’s held in Wilmington, NC every Memorial Weekend (this is the twelfth year) and features all sorts of amazing indie bands. Through WE Fest I’ve been exposed to so many talented folks who became my close friends, such as The Flashing Astonishers/Gregg Yeti, Nina 57, Jim Testa… the list would go on and on if I named them all. Check out the WE Fest website for all the details.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. citified permalink
    May 21, 2008 7:38 pm

    Bad Driver makes me laff.
    Kim’s funny when she cusses…and it’s totally hot!

  2. May 21, 2008 8:56 pm

    mwah ha ha ha ha!

  3. May 22, 2008 12:57 pm

    see you in wilmington! email me your showcase(s) info and i’ll be there. we’re driving up tomorrow – plane tickets too pricey.

Leave a Reply

