Skip to content

Atlanta invades Wilmington – WE Fest 2008!

May 22, 2008

WE FestI’m super excited about this year’s Wilmington Exchange Festival, which starts tonight and runs through Monday night at The Soapbox Laundro-Lounge in Wilmington, NC. This is the twelfth WE Fest, which is pretty dang amazing in itself. I can’t help but get nostalgic when I think of its beginnings. I missed the very first WE Fest because I was out of town planning my wedding. Since then I haven’t missed another one, and I’ve gone through a divorce, another marriage (which is going great thank you), a move to Atlanta, and if my memory is serving me correctly, WE Fest appearances in five different bands:

So I guess you could say one of the few constants in my life over the last 12 years has been WE Fest 🙂

This year I was determined to bring as many Atlanta bands to Wilmington as humanly possible. I’d say I did ok, with my two showcases combining to include a total of eight ATL artists. Sweet! So if you are going to be in Wilmington, please check out the following:

SATURDAY, MAY 24
SOAPBOX UPSTAIRS BACKBAR:

8:15 – James Curran (GA)
8:45 – John Harrison (NC)
9:15 – Andy Bilinski (NC)

9:45 – Lovesick Scientist (GA)
10:15 – John McNicholas (GA)
10:45 – Nina 57 (NY)
11:15 – Jim Testa (NJ)
12:00 – Jeff Evans (from Chickens & Pigs) (GA)

FREE FOOD FROM HELL’S KITCHEN & SHOE-IN ENTERTAINMENT!!!
This is in the back bar off the top floor, so a nice little respite if you need a break from the main room.

SUNDAY, MAY 25
SOAPBOX UPSTAIRS:


9:00 – The Good Graces (GA)
9:30 – Pistolero (GA)
10:15 – Gregg Yeti & The Best Lights (NY)
11:00 – Club Awesome (GA)
11:45 – Jupiter Watts (GA)
12:45 – Lamont Skylark (NC)

COME EARLY FOR THE FREE PIZZA (!!!) AND STAY LATE FOR THE ESKIMO KISS SHOOTERS (YES, THEY ARE BACK AGAIN)

[Note: The eskimo kiss shooters made their debut at last year’s showcase and were a huge hit. Indie music + sweet chocolatey shots = good and drunk. And I’m getting pizza from every WE Fester’s favorite, I Love NY Pizza, so come early while it lasts.]

And finally, I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention that we’ll have even more ATL representation from the fine folks at SE Performer, who are also putting on a showcase Saturday night in the main room upstairs. So you can kinda jump back and forth between ours and theirs. The Performer showcase will include Batata Doce and One Hand Loves the Other, that in itself is pretty friggin’ awesome.

For more info and a full schedule and such visit www.wefestival.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

