Skip to content

Learning to cook from Grandma

June 19, 2008

Learning to cook from Grandma

Originally uploaded by esKIM0

Today while I was taking a break to fix some lunch and do dishes, I noticed my grandmother’s box of recipe cards and had an idea. I’m going to learn to cook from my Grandmother.

She passed away a couple of years ago, and when we sorted through all her stuff I didn’t have as much of an interest in things with monetary value, but instead I wanted things like her old rotary phone, and these recipe cards. Things that really reminded me of her.

So I decided today that I’m going to take on a little project: I’m going to cook one of her recipes each month. I haven’t even looked through her cards, but I figure there are probably a lot of things that I’m not really interested in, like fruit salads or casseroles. But no matter, I need an excuse to cook anyway, and I love the idea of having my grandma teach me. So each month I intend to post to my blog about my attempts, along with photos. Stay tuned!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2008 4:12 pm

    that’s a great idea. i associate food memories with my grandmas all the time.

  2. June 19, 2008 5:11 pm

    That’s so wonderful. Liz and I made some of my Dad’s chili last week. Such fun!

  3. June 19, 2008 10:37 pm

    That is such a great idea!!! I hope you’ll let us know how it goes and what recipes you are able to replicate just like her orginals.

Leave a Reply

