Skip to content

Catching up, slightly

July 12, 2008

I have been SO busy lately. With work, music, life… everything.

Some of the things I’ve been spending my time on:

  • Work – I have a new title. “User Experience Author.” I like it because it sounds fancy. And I can say I’m an author. It basically means that I help guide the user experience design for our apps, but with more of a focus on the content and user stories than on the actual design part. Or at least that’s what I’ve mostly been focused on over the past week or so.
  • Music – trying to finish my recording. The recording part is all done. The mixing is 99% done. What remains is the tweaks to just one song, a song that was a total afterthought, tacked on at the very last minute. A song I hadn’t played in probably five or six years, maybe longer. But this song just happens to set the tone of the entire record. It’s the lead-off track, and it’s far from perfect. But it’s the perfect intro. So I’m being very stubborn about getting it right.
  • More music – Next week I’m volunteering as a drum instructor at Girls Rock Camp ATL. Last night the volunteers got together for a screening of “Girls Rock! The Movie.” It was fantastic. So funny, sweet, inspiring, a little sad at times. Got me really pumped up about next week.
  • Life – And finally, yesterday I made a completely spur of the moment decision to train for a triathlon. I was asked by a co-worker, and I thought, why not. Worse case scenario, I chicken out on the actual triathlon part but I get in crazy good shape during the training process. Or drop dead. Well our first training session was today. 20 minutes – 60 secs of jogging, then 90 secs of walking. That’s it. Sounded so easy. Not. I couldn’t believe how hard it was at first. But, I did get a second wind towards the end. Then suddenly it was over, and it really didn’t seem all that bad. Wish me luck! Now I’m off to shower and band practice.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. citified permalink
    July 14, 2008 11:50 pm

    this update makes me very happy.

    one question regarding the 20 minute triathlon session.

    60 secs of jogging + 90 secs of walking does not equal 20 mins? we’re honey buns involved?

  2. citified permalink
    July 14, 2008 11:55 pm

    oh man, i just figured it out. you did that for 20 minutes. you go girl! honey buns?

  3. July 15, 2008 7:27 am

    hee hee. yes. for 20 min. starting with a 5 min walk, then stretching, then 20 min of that 60/90 secs walk/jog thing.

    What’s even more amazing is I did it again today, BY MYSELF! My try-athlete partner bailed on me!

Leave a Reply

