Skip to content

Paying it forward to WonderRoot

August 1, 2008

This morning I stopped by the Post Office on the way to work, to mail a package. As I walked in I noticed a lady putting a package together to mail, I smiled at her and she said good morning. I walked on up to the counter, made some small talk with the postal clerk, gave him my package and turned to leave. As I was walking out, the lady said “Ma’am;” I kept walking as I didn’t think she was talking to me. She said it again, a little louder so I turned around. She was holding what looked like some lotions and asked me if I ever used foot lotion or foot scrub. For a minute I thought she was trying to sell me something, or maybe she wanted my opinion on them or something. I said “sometimes,” and then she proceeded to offer them to me. Said she was about to return them but then thought if she could give them to someone who could use them, she’d rather do that.

I told her she should send them back if she’s able to get a refund and she said she wasn’t worried about that. “When someone does something nice sometimes it seems weird but we have to bless each other sometimes,” she said. I smiled, thanked her and tried to offer her some money, but she wouldn’t take it. Asked her her name (Kay) and told her mine, thanked her again, and told her to have a great day.

As I walked to my car I was just overcome with this really happy feeling. It really is weird sometimes if a complete stranger just does some random nice thing for you. But it shouldn’t be. It should be the norm.

I thought about the movie and concept of “paying it forward,” and vowed to do something nice for someone today. Just last night after reading the blurb about WonderRoot in Southeast Performer, I thought about contacting them and seeing what I could do to help them. So I started this morning by giving them a small donation.

I haven’t been to WonderRoot’s new space yet, but I really appreciate their cause. If you’re unfamiliar with the organization, as their mission statement reads they are “committed to uniting artists and community to inspire positive social change.” Their community services include programs to help artists produce and distribute their work, beautification projects, and (the program I’m probably most interested in helping with) youth art education and mentoring.

For more info on WonderRoot you can visit their website at www.wonderroot.org. And while it might sound a little cheesy, or weird, it’s a really great feeling when some random stranger does something nice for you. But it’s an even better feeling when you do some good for someone else. There are many organizations that need my help, I just happened to choose this one today because I have a personal interest in it. And my donation wasn’t much, but I do intend to help them in other ways. Hopefully this post will inspire you to do something nice today too. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 1, 2008 3:04 pm

    Hi there,

    Not weird. Wonderful!

    -heder

Leave a Reply

