Skip to content

When you’re running up that hill…

August 21, 2008

A little over a month ago, I started a morning jogging/walking routine (after being prompted by my friend/co-worker Michelle, aka Maddog to train with her for a triathlon). Every Tues, Thurs and Sat since, I’ve headed out to lovely Grant Park at an ungodly hour (usually around 7:30 AM), often accompanied by Maddog. We’re doing the Cool Running Couch-to-5K plan, and so far it’s going pretty ok.

Grant Park is really hilly. I spent 15 years in Wilmington, NC, one of the flattest spots on the planet (except for some spots downtown that I used to actually ride by bike through). When I first moved to Atlanta four years ago, I was instantly taken by all the hills. In my opinion, they can make a place much prettier. Well the problem with hills is they can also make a 5-minute jog seem brutal, especially to someone who’s still getting used to this jogging thing. There’s one hill in particular at Grant Park that kicks our ass on a regular basis. Well this morning, the hill was my friend.

It was the first session of the week 5 plan, so after a 5-minute warmup walk and some stretching, I took off for my 5-minute jog (we had worked ourselves up to 5 minutes, which I know doesn’t sound like much, but when you’re forced to do that 5 minutes even though your legs might not want to, it can be really hard). The timing was perfect today. After the 5 minutes I was just starting to approach the incline of the hill of death. So I was able to walk up to the top (3 minutes), then start out on the next 5-minute jog. Nice. The cycle ended at the begging of another decline on the opposite end of the park, so it was perfect. I ended the session and headed back to my car with a feeling of accomplishment. Again, it sounds so simple, to jog for 5 minutes. But we started just a month ago with 60 seconds of jogging, alternating that with 90 seconds of walking. And even that seemed difficult at the time. So I’m pretty dang proud of myself!

So there you have it, I’m a jogging nerd. I even bought myself a fancy North Face outfit a couple of weekends ago to prove it! Saturday the plan is to run for two 8-minute cycles, then Tues brings a full 20 minutes, which sounds really scary, but we’ll see. Wish me luck!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle "Mad Dog" Madayag permalink
    August 21, 2008 9:06 am

    You look so cute in that outfit. I am SO excited to hear the jog went well today. Sorry I didnt make it but I did do the treadmill for 2 miles. I have tennis tonight and jogging and playing the same day makes me really tired in tennis.

    I MAY go out a lot earlier tomorrow morning (Friday) and get a quick jog in before work 🙂
    I cant believe that I just said that…but I am loving it.

    We’re so close to a 5K….I KNOW IT!!!

  2. Michelle "Mad Dog" Madayag permalink
    August 21, 2008 9:07 am

    When are you going to write a song about that hill?

  3. August 21, 2008 9:14 am

    thanks girl (for the cute in that outfit comment) 🙂

    and yes, a song about that damn hill is probably in order, however I’m not sure I can compete w/ Kate Bush’s. I need to get to work on that.

  4. Michelle "Mad Dog" Madayag permalink
    August 21, 2008 10:20 am

    Is Kate Bush a hippie?

  5. August 21, 2008 10:23 am

    lol! maybe?
    you can judge – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BZsXVf6INc

  6. michelle "spy magnet" friedman permalink
    August 21, 2008 10:42 am

    Good Job Girl! I am so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

