Skip to content

Quick recap post while lunching

August 25, 2008

Today I’m having lunch at my desk, which gives me a little bit of time to catch up on some of life’s REALLY important things, like blogging.

The past week and a half was crazy busy! I played two sets at the Athens Popfest, first with The Good Graces and then with Mary O. Harrison and co. It was a ton of fun and I’m already looking forward to next year’s Popfest. I enjoyed playing at Flicker again, one of my favorite venues, and both sets were well-received. I also saw some really fun bands while I was there. I enjoyed most all of them, but I guess the one that stuck out the most to me had to be Ruby Isle. Ruby Isle is comprised of Dan Geller from Kindercore Recs/I Am The World Trade Center fame, along with two other guys who might be just as important but I didn’t recognize. I must admit, at the start of their set I wasn’t sold on their 80s-influenced electro pop because it sounded like they were just making use of so many backing tracks. That tends to turn me off a bit. But by midway through their set I was grinning from ear to ear. They turned out to be so damn entertaining that I don’t think anyone could resist them. I picked up their CD, “Night Shot,” which is really great and includes a fantastic cover of Peter Gabriel’s “Solsbury Hill;” that track alone is worth the purchase price.

Because I like to stay eclectic in regards to my musical tastes, I thought it would be appropriate to take in the polar opposite of Popfest just a few days after. Yes, I went to the American Idol show! Yes, it was incredibly silly and cheesy. Actually, I take that back. It was quite silly, yes. But it wasn’t as cheesy as I thought it would be. I don’t know if that’s a reflection of the show itself, or just me. I enjoyed seeing my favorites from this past season, Brooke, Jason Castro and David Cook. I must say little David Archuleta was even ok. We missed the first few performers as I found myself relearning how to drive on I-85. Temporary mental lapse of that skill. But joking aside, it was interesting to see such a huge production that is American Idol in a live setting. There was a lot of screaming from teenage (or younger) girls. And sure, I guess I would have rather been in a small club seeing a local band. But it’s nice to step out of your comfort zone sometimes, no?

I’ll post some pics from both musical adventures this evening!

Finally, last Monday I started my Technical Writing and Editing class at SPSU. It’s all online, which is cool and means I can do it on my own time. The problem is, with my CD coming out in a couple of months, playing in two bands (sometimes two and a half or so), keeping up with house and work emergencies, and trying to maintain some semblance of a social life… well it seems that my free time has been dwindling lately. So once again, I’ve found myself frustrated by the fact that I’ve bitten off a little more than I can chew recently. Making a mental promise to myself not to do this again next year. We’ll see if I can actually follow through with that promise.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

