Skip to content

In the Zone

September 11, 2008

As some of you know, I’m a songwriter (it still feels a little weird to say that, but yeah, I suppose I really am a songwriter!). Over the past year or so I’ve written a dozen or so songs, and with a few of them, I was fortunate enough to reach that place where the song just writes itself. It’s a pretty amazing feeling; I sit down with a tiny idea and the next thing I know, about 10-15 minutes later, I’ve got a song. And looking back, what’s really neat about those songs that just wrote themselves is it really was just like that. I don’t even remember writing them. It’s like they just came out, like they were there all along, I just had to find them.

In athletic terms, I guess this equates to being “in the zone.” I don’t consider myself an athlete, but I recently took up running, in the mornings, three days a week. Typically, if you ask me how my run went, I usually find a way to throw in the term “sucked” somewhere in there. I just don’t really enjoy running, and every time I do it, it just seems like such a huge challenge that I have to force myself to push through. Granted, I do feel so much better once I’m done, and proud of what I’ve accomplished. But while I’m actually doing it, usually about all I can think of is “This sucks!”

Today though, I think I actually slipped into the zone. I was talking to a friend the other day, about how sometimes when you’re driving somewhere familiar and you zone out, then suddenly you’re there and it’s like you don’t even remember driving there. That’s how I felt today at the end of my run. I remember when I was first starting this morning, for some reason it seemed a little more difficult to get started than usual. Those few hills at the beginning seemed bigger. But perhaps the good thing about having a mind that is almost always racing from one to-do or idea to another, is that I was able to just lose myself in my thoughts and zone out. Next thing I knew, I was getting into my car. It was like suddenly the run was over and it hadn’t seemed near as challenging or as long as usual. Typically I’m looking at my watch every five minutes or so. Today I didn’t look at the time at all, and it seemed to just fly by.

I guess I should add that while zoning out, I had an idea for another project. Oh boy. I love and hate when that happens. I love being inspired and getting excited about taking on something new. But I hate when I overcommit myself.

Here’s hoping that I can get a handle on my willingness to jump into new projects, but that I’m able to feel that “in the zone” feeling again while running; it was pretty awesome!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michelle "Mad Dog" Madayag permalink
    September 12, 2008 11:03 am

    That is awesome. I’m still in the “this sucks” phase except for those few times we have talked about. I only got out of “the zone” that one time when I thought the bum was going to talk to you in front of the police station. That was a nice “zone” moment.

Leave a Reply

