Skip to content

The saddest blog ever

November 14, 2008

I think everyone needs a “wake up” moment from time to time, something to make them realize what they have, how precious life is, and just how small their “problems” really are. For me, my biggest wake up moment so far was watching my younger brother battle colon cancer. It was four years ago, and Todd was 29 years old. I’ll always remember that September day that he called me to tell me the news. When he got his diagnosis, his life changed in an instant, as did our entire family’s. Fortunately for all of us, Todd is nearing his fifth year of being cancer-free. It took surgery, chemo, and some really great doctors to get him there. Not to mention his really great attitude.

We don’t talk about Todd’s cancer too much anymore, but it no doubt changed him, and probably still lingers in his mind most every day. I can’t really imagine everything he must have been feeling (both mentally and physically), but I think somehow, he was able to view his cancer as just another challenge, and even look at it in a positive light. It can definitely change your perspective on things. For me, it made realize the value of just getting up out of bed every day. Things really can change in an instant. Life is so precious, and we so often take it for granted. It also made me realize that my piddly little problems aren’t really that big, in the scheme of things.

It’s a lesson that’s easy to forget though. I tend to get caught up in my “problems” and forget that they could be so much worse. So sometimes I need a reminder. Yesterday, this reminder came in the form of a blog called “Matt, Liz and Madeline.” I had followed a link to an old friend’s blog from his Facebook page, and was reading along and noticed his link to another blog that he said “will break your heart.” Well if you know me you know I’m “drawn to sad things.” At least that’s what every personality test I’ve taken has said about me (and it’s true, I tend to like sad songs, sad movies, sad stories… I think it’s because I appreciate and understand the yin and yang of things, have to have the bad to appreciate the good, and all that). So I couldn’t resist the temptation of a blog that might break my heart.

Boy was he right. It was nearing the end of my workday, which I guess is a good thing because as soon as I started reading my productivity was shot. And it really did break my heart for a few minutes. It’s probably the saddest bit of blogging, or anything really, that I’ve ever read. But it’s also hopeful, endearing, sweet, and very real, like the best stories. And it really gave me that reality check I needed to realize that things like Mark’s brakes being shot or us living paycheck to paycheck or having a dryer that keeps putting holes in all my favorite t-shirts really just aren’t that bad in the scheme of things.

If you have a few hours (days, really, there’s a lot to read there) and a few boxes of tissues check out Matt’s blog. Start here, and then work your way forward to the present (scroll down past the comments to link to the next post). Trust me, it’ll do wonders for you, and it really is a great story.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2008 10:15 pm

    Holy crap. I think I’ve been crying for 15 minutes straight. Thank you for sharing the link.

  2. November 14, 2008 10:20 pm

    I’m sorry! You’re welcome! 🙂
    Some amazing stuff huh? I haven’t caught up to the present yet, I’m at Aug. reading as much as I’m able to squeeze in each day. I promise you it gets a little less sad the more you read on.

  3. December 5, 2008 4:47 pm

    I just found this today. Just amazing.

    • December 5, 2008 8:32 pm

      Gosh I know. so unbelievably sad. but a really good read too, I couldn’t tear myself away from that blog for days.

Leave a Reply

