Skip to content

Announcing the ATLSXSWeek Experiment!

February 12, 2009

Last year I went to SXSW for the very first time. It was life-changing. No, seriously. I loved it, and vowed to go back every year. Well it’s only a year later and I’m already missing out. Recent financial issues have made it hard for me to shell out the $1000+ that SXSW requires. So, I thought I’d have my own little SXSW week here in the ATL.

ATL-iens are fortunate in that a lot of good touring bands come through here. Especially the week of SXSW. So this year I’m vowing to see all the great bands I can in one week. Seven nights, seven (or more, if I hop from venue to venue) shows. For a 9-to-5’er who doesn’t go out that much, that’s a LOT. I’ll be joined by my partner in crime Spy Magnet, and we’ll be blogging and tweeting and anything else we can possibly do to be annoying as hell about it. But it will be fun!

So check back here the week of March 15 and see if I can do it. And if you know of any good bands coming through that week, let me know (guestlist spots mean extra love here. hint hint.)!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 8:55 pm

    Hey, I like this idea, but you might want to think about doing it the week after SXSW. If you look, there are a ton of great bands coming through Atlanta that week after they get done with SXSW. I’ve actually been referring to that week as SXSE for a couple of years because it always seems to have so many good shows come through the A.

  2. February 13, 2009 8:17 am

    This is true. BUT, the point of doing it the week of is so I don’t sit at home sulking, reading all the updates from people at SX, and feeling miserable for not being there. So I figure I’ll just have my own fun that week. And if there are shows that I just have to see the following week, hell I guess I’ll just have to go to those too!

Trackbacks

  1. 100 bands in 100 days « eskimo bliss

Leave a Reply

