Skip to content

LOWRY at Star Bar, Feb. 20

February 13, 2009

Lowry

Engine Room Recordings artist Lowry are on tour the month of February and will be returning to Atlanta to play at Star Bar on February 20th.  The show, presented by Team Luis,  starts at 9pm and also on the bill are the Second Shift reunion show, YOU, and Hotpipes.

I was first introduced to Lowry a few years ago when they played at the WE Festival. I believe I actually missed their set because I was playing at the same time. But I had checked out their music prior to the festival and instantly liked them. They’re one of those  bands that’s kinda difficult to categorize, I think primarily because you’re instantly drawn to singer Alex Lowry’s voice, which happens to sound like no one else’s. This is a very good thing. I’ve read comparisions to bands like The Shins, Grandaddy and Death Cab for Cutie, which I guess is somewhat accurate in that Lowry play the sort of smart indierock that I really love.

If that sounds like your thing check them out next Friday. Look for me!

Lowry – Whiskey mp3

One Comment leave one →
  1. whatever permalink
    February 22, 2009 11:55 am

    if by voice sounding like no one, you mean exactly like the Decembrists… then you are correct.

Leave a Reply

