Skip to content

Happy List

May 30, 2009

I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately. Earlier today, while using the bathroom (it’s where I do most of my reading for pleasure, so don’t knock it. And don’t you do most of your best thinking and reading there too?), I picked up the book “to-do list” and started reading. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the book, it’s simply a book of lists. Some of them to-do lists, some of them lists of pet peeves, some of them lists of happy things. I highly recommend it. Anyway, I was particularly drawn to the chapter of happy lists, and thought it would be good for me to make my own. So funk be damned, here’s a list of things that currently make me very happy.

  1. My husband having a good job, enabling us to go to Puerto Rico next week.
  2. My ability to write songs that make me laugh at myself and cheer me up, and I think sometimes cheer other people up too.
  3. My talented, fun friends who are always there for me.
  4. My health.
  5. My dogs. Even little man, because he makes me feel so needed and loved.
  6. This beautiful day.
  7. My screened-in porch, a nice setting for enjoying this beautiful day.
  8. Hall & Oates.
  9. The new music that my friend Andy left me with last week.
  10. Having no plans for the entire weekend.

What makes you happy today?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 2:20 am

    Having you as a friend makes me very happy. I love the music we get to play together.

    • May 31, 2009 9:15 am

      awww, you are too sweet. it makes me very happy too!!! can’t wait to hear about your adventures when you get back.

  2. June 2, 2009 5:03 am

    my mom and dad visiting for a week and–insane go-getters that they are–tackling a series of chores my wife and i have been “planning” on doing for the last year. e.g., my eighty-year-old dad hired a handyman and built a goddamn backyard tool shed in a day and a half!

    my two perfect cats.

    my one perfect wife.

    savannah rain storms.

    not having a total dick as a president.

    red-headed woodpeckers taking up residence in pecan trees.

    pals who are willing to help.

    being able to help.

    clean t-shirts.

    pie.

Leave a Reply

