Skip to content

Top Chef Episode 5 – Au revoir, Frenchie

September 18, 2009

It was tough for me to bring myself to recap this episode, because believe it or not, I’m pretty distressed over the outcome. Yep, I was definitely on Team Mattin since episode 1. Accent + mandkerchief = best character of the season (and really, how cute was he about the whole camping thing?!?). As if it wasn’t enough to lose Hector last week, now I’m extra bummed that my favorite Frenchie won’t be part of my Wednesday nights anymore (gotta make plans to visit his restaurant in San Fran!) But that aside, at least the season is getting a little more interesting, as we’re starting to see some of the early slackers (namely, Laurine) step it up a bit, and the brother drama is continuing to give the show some promise of a very exciting conclusion.

Top-Chef-Mattin

And now, for this week’s award winners …

Best example of someone deciding to compete, finally: As I mentioned, Laurine really stepped it up; it’s good to see a strong female in addition to Jenn and the hit-or-miss Ashley.

Top-Chef-Laurine


Best quote:
A toss-up this week, between Eli’s “I think [camping] is asinine… we got electricity for a reason” (really, I can’t say I disagree) and Ash’s “I can’t handle being on the bottom!” (TMI much?).

eli ash


Most likely to make me want to eat my television:
Wow, while it didn’t land her in the top four (surprisingly), I gotta say, Jenn’s Snapper and cold salad looked friggin fantastic.

jennifer


Most likely to be adversely affected by heat, thus causing him to think he’s filming Pirates of the Caribbean:
Ron. WTF. a sword??? Does anyone have a sword??? Um, sure, it’s right here in my knife bag, beside my throwing stars and numchucks. WTF?

and, while we’re on the subject …

Most likely to pack the knives swords next week: Ron, your accent and friendly demeanor has been a nice enough addition, but it’s gotten pretty obvious that you’re out of your league. How do you say goodbye in Creole?

ron


Most likely to go all the way:
This is getting tougher and tougher. Currently I feel like it’s a toss up between the two brothers. And while I would much rather see Michael V. left standing at the end, right now I’m feeling like Bryan has a slightly better chance, simply due to experience.

bryan-voltaggio-top-chef

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 7:34 pm

    Good recap. I’m rooting for Bryan … because he’s so damn cute. I’m going to miss Mattin’s adorable Basque neckerchiefs.

    • September 20, 2009 5:35 pm

      Thanks! Really, you think he’s cute? I think his little bro is cuter. But yeah Mattin was the cutest 😦

Leave a Reply

